Icelandic Art Forger: I Sold Fake Picasso to Danes PDF Print E-mail
Exchange Links
Add Link
Written by Iceland Review   
Sunday, 17 February 2013 07:00

Iceland’s best known art forger, Sigurður Þorláksson, maintained in an interview with Danish weekly Rapport in 1974 that the National Gallery of Denmark’s pride and joy, a Picasso painting, is a forgery he sold to a Danish fisherman in Iceland for booze and smokes.

copenhagen03_ps
Copenhagen. Photo: Páll Stefánsson/Iceland Review.

The old story was brought up on RÚV’s Rás 1 radio program Innion Friday.

“I painted the picture in 1952 after a photograph, originally to practice. Then one day, when I was broke, I sold the picture to a Danish steersman for a box of whiskey and five cartons of cigarettes.” The pai...

Last Updated on Monday, 18 February 2013 22:12
 
Ice-Covered Rams Recovered in North Iceland PDF Print E-mail
Written by Iceland Review   
Sunday, 17 February 2013 04:30

Sheep that were lost in the snowstorm in September 2012 keep turning up; farmer Daði Friðriksson in the rural Mývatn region in Northeast Iceland recently recovered two young rams with pieces of ice clinging to their wool in Gæsadalur valley.

myvatn-winter_ps
Mývatn. Archive photo: Páll Stefánsson/Iceland Review.

Daði told ruv.is that the lambs were skinny, especially one of them, but expected them to survive. He assumed that they had fed on withered grass.

There is still a thick snow-cover in the region yet Daði keeps looking for lost sheep, stating there is no use in giving up.

Chair of the National Association...

Last Updated on Monday, 18 February 2013 22:13
 
Iceland’s Government Offices Attract Naked People PDF Print E-mail
Written by Iceland Review   
Saturday, 16 February 2013 06:06

Two men wearing nothing but their birthday suits were spotted racing on the lawn in front of the Government Offices of Iceland in Reykjavík on Thursday night. Not long ago, a foreign tourist was tricked by local girls to strip down in front of the building.

stjornarradid_ps
Stjórnarráðið, the Government Offices of Iceland. Photo: Páll Stefánsson/Iceland Review.

In regards to this week’s incident, the Reykjavík Metropolitan Police commented on their Facebook page that “it was unclear what the men’s intention was but it is considered certain that they were not on their way to a cabinet meeting.”

A witness reported...

Last Updated on Monday, 18 February 2013 22:14
 
Iceland’s Economic Outlook Best in Nordic Region PDF Print E-mail
Written by Iceland Review   
Saturday, 16 February 2013 05:00

The economic growth in Iceland this year will be considerably higher than in the other Nordic countries, according to a new report on the economic outlook in Sweden and the world, written on behalf of the Swedish parliament.

icelandickrona_ipa
Copyright: Icelandic Photo Agency.

It is assumed that Iceland will enjoy economic growth of more than 2 percent in 2013, whereas it is expected to be 1.4 percent in Sweden and 1.7 percent in Norway, Denmark and Finland on average. The oil industry is excluded in the evaluation of Norway.

The report estimates that economic growth will only be 0.8 percent in Germany and the

...

Last Updated on Monday, 18 February 2013 22:15
 
Asian Food, Icelandic Style (MAG) PDF Print E-mail
Written by Iceland Review   
Saturday, 16 February 2013 05:00

marvidl There have been fleeting moments when I wished I was a food snob. It must be exhilarating to be able to distinguish the subtle nuances of delicately flavored dishes playing with the senses.

Sadly though, my tastes are strictly pedestrian and while I do appreciate the time and effort required of gourmet cooking, I always turn to my Asian roots:Down home cooking now modified to accommodate Icelandic ingredients or remastered to cater (just a teensy, weensy bit) to the Icelandic palate.

There are a number of Asian grocers in Reykjavík. The most visible would be the Thai grocery and gift shop...

Last Updated on Monday, 18 February 2013 22:15
 
<< Start < Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next > End >>

Page 7 of 480

admin@icelandpulse.com